end kvetch

Macs, productivity, &c.

Things a White Person Likes

So, you’ve probably been lying awake at night thinking Where’s that Somatic Gnome? I miss him. Don’t worry, you can admit it, I won’t think you’re weird. Anyway, here I am! Clearly, I’ve taken a hiatus (sorry about that year of nights tossing and turning that I caused you), but now I’m back. To ease myself back into this whole thing, I think I’ll be doing a little bit called “Things a White Person Likes” where a list a couple of the things that have been keeping me away…

Propel Fit Powder™: First off, no, Gatorade isn’t paying me for this (I wish. I’d totally sell out.), but I really like this stuff. I don’t drink much water, but I love Lemon Propel. Basically, Fit Powder is a Bring-Your-Own-Bottle-of-Water version of Propel. A bottle of water and a pack of it tastes exactly like the real stuff (and at a tenth of price). If you wish your water tasted like lemonade, check it out (and tell ’em I sent you, maybe I’ll get this endorsement deal yet).

Lily Allen: Lily’s awesome. Her first album, Alright, Still was totally awesome, and a couple days ago, It’s Not Me, It’s You came out and it’s awesomer– it’s ironic electropop at its best. However, to be honest, I think the Brits might hate her the same way we hate all our somewhat trashy pop stars. I lump Lily into the “bitter British chicks that can really sing” category along with Kate Nash; check her out too.

Bones: I love this show so much. I’m generally a fan of procedural shows anyway (since I secretly fantasize of being a cop), but Bones is more than that: It’s funny, original, quirky, &c., &c., blah, blah, blah, two thumbs up. Basically, it’s amazing and you should watch it.

My Lumix DMC-LX3: Recently, I decided to get a digital camera and get back into photography (I did black and white film stuff for a couple years). I looked mostly at prosumer point and shoots and finally settled on the LX3 after a long struggle between that and the Canon G10. Not only do I love the LX3’s retro styling, but it takes great photos and even supports RAW (which, by the way, was probably created by Raptor Jesus himself). Photos pulled from my Flickr pool are in the sidebar now, so yeah, check ’em out.

My iPod Touch: I got my iTouch last summer and it may actually be the best thing that ever happened to me. It’s great to be able to access email and the rest of the Web without lugging around my laptop. Text entry isn’t great and it’s utility is greatly diminished without wi-fi around (I’m very jealous of the iPhone’s data connection. And the whole phone thing.) but overall, it’s a totally awesome device: It’s a PDA, iPod, gaming device and tablet all rolled into one. Frankly, I can’t believe people still use regular iPods, they seem like total crap after this thing.

I probably like more stuff than that, but that’s all I can think of for now. Stay tuned for some Mac-related stuff.

Filed under: Everyday Ramblings, Odes, , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None
