end kvetch

Macs, productivity, &c.

An Update on the Firefox Switch

picture-3

So, I’ve been using Firefox for the better part of week now. Honestly, I’m a little surprised I’ve lasted this long.

I’ve made some progress with a couple of the issues that I mentioned in my earlier post about the switch to Firefox. However, some new problems have also arisen.

The Good

Predictably, as time went on, credentials became less of an issue. I am now to the point where authentication is no different than it is in Safari.

Mozilla’s Asa Dotzler has also assured me that contextual menus will be much improved in the next update.

At Download Squad’s advice, I also installed the GrApple Delicious Blue theme which makes Firefox look very much like Safari. Overall, it’s certainly an improvement and, best of all, the ugly blank favicon icons have been replaced with the same nice globes that Safari uses.

I still have no complaints about Firefox’s speed.

The Bad

Unfortunately, as I’ve used Firefox more, its faults have become more apparent.

My biggest beef with Firefox is its download management. I hate the popup that comes up whenever I download something asking what I want to do with it. I also miss the nice little files that Safari had with the progress bar right on the icon. Firefox just plops the actual file in your downloads folder and leaves you to guess when its complete. Of course, I could check the download’s progress in Firefox itself, but Download Statusbar seems totally incapable of giving accurate information (this isn’t Mozilla’s fault, of course, but still).

things-dl

Firefox also lacks Safari’s PDF handling. I like the ability to just look at a document without having to download it, but in Firefox, there’s no such option.

Firefox’s history menu also really bugs me. To view anything from more then a couple minutes ago, you have to open up the history sidebar. In Safari, you can access days of history from the menu alone.

Considering that I left Safari to escape a text entry bug, it’s ironic that I’ve run into another (much less annoying) text entry bug in Firefox. On Facebook (and maybe other sites, but I haven’t found any), I get an annoying little line coming off the cursor which makes it look like I have an extra apostrophe. As you can see below, the some affliction doesn’t affect Google (and other sites which I tested).

picture-21

picture-12

I’m not sure who’s at fault, but it’s a pretty annoying bug, especially when using Facebook Chat.

Even considering all this, I don’t think I’ll be switching back to Safari anytime soon. Especially with version 3.1 on the way and a growing number of Add-Ons, it seems that Firefox can only get better.

Filed under: Apple, , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Categories

Top Clicks

  • None
